tokens-per-dollar · prices read
Codex credits to tokens
Codex credits are charged per token. On GPT-6.1 Sol one credit buys 20,000 input tokens, 400,000 cached input tokens or 4,000 output tokens (50, 2.5 and 250 credits per million). OpenAI does not state a dollar price per credit for Plus or Pro; its own figures put it at $0.04: $100 of workspace credits is 2,500 credits, and its Enterprise USD rate card is 25 credits to the dollar. At that price every rate in the table below comes to the model's API list price. What your own month comes to is a sum over your tokens: npx --allow-git=root github:agentwares/tokens-per-dollar does it from the session files Codex keeps.
The rate card, per model
| Model | Credits per million: input · cached · output | Tokens per credit: input · cached · output | Per million at $0.04: input · output |
|---|---|---|---|
| GPT-6 Astra | 250 · 25 · 1,250 | 4,000 · 40,000 · 800 | $10.00 · $50.00 |
| GPT-6.1 Sol | 50 · 2.5 · 250 | 20,000 · 400,000 · 4,000 | $2.00 · $10.00 |
| GPT-6 Sol | 50 · 5 · 250 | 20,000 · 200,000 · 4,000 | $2.00 · $10.00 |
| GPT-6 Luna | 2.5 · 0.25 · 12.5 | 400,000 · 4,000,000 · 80,000 | $0.10 · $0.50 |
| GPT-5.6 Sol | 100 · 10 · 500 | 10,000 · 100,000 · 2,000 | $4.00 · $20.00 |
| GPT-5.6 Terra | 50 · 5 · 300 | 20,000 · 200,000 · 3,333 | $2.00 · $12.00 |
| GPT-5.6 Luna | 5 · 0.5 · 30 | 200,000 · 2,000,000 · 33,333 | $0.20 · $1.20 |
| GPT-5.5 | 125 · 12.5 · 750 | 8,000 · 80,000 · 1,333 | $5.00 · $30.00 |
| GPT-5.3-Codex | 43.75 · 4.375 · 350 | 22,857 · 228,571 · 2,857 | $1.75 · $14.00 |
| GPT-5.2 | 43.75 · 4.375 · 350 | 22,857 · 228,571 · 2,857 | $1.75 · $14.00 |
Standard speed. Codex credit billing has no separate cache-write charge: tokens written to the cache count as input. Fast mode, where available, uses twice the Standard rate on purchased credits. GPT-5.6 Sol's rates are promotional, at least through 21 November 2026. The dollar column is derived (OpenAI does not state a price per credit for Plus or Pro; $0.04 is derived from its own figures: $100 of workspace credits is 2,500 credits, and its Enterprise USD rate card is 25 credits to the dollar on every row).
Credits and the plans
ChatGPT Plus ($20 a month) and Pro (from $100: tiers at $100, $200 and $500 a month, billed monthly) include Codex. Plus has a five-hour window and a weekly limit; Pro has no five-hour limit. OpenAI publishes local-message estimates per five hours for Plus, which it says are not fixed limits, and no allowance for either plan in tokens or credits. Plus and Pro users who reach the limit can buy credits and keep working at this rate card.
What OpenAI does not publish, Codex records: it writes the plan and the percentage of the 5-hour and weekly windows used into its session files. So for the plan you were on, whether it carried your month is measured, not estimated.
$ npx --allow-git=root github:agentwares/tokens-per-dollar demo
Codex: 628 requests, 25.8M tokens, $34.68 at OpenAI API list prices
busiest 5 hours $2.41 · busiest week $9.16 (API list prices)
Codex's own readings (Plus): busiest 5-hour window 48%, busiest week 12% of the limit, never at it
plan fee/mo a month like this how
ChatGPT Plus $20 $20.00 measured Codex's readings: never at the limit
Copilot Pro $10 $29.68 estimate $34.68 of credits, $15.00 included ²
Codex credits — $33.50 priced 837 credits at $0.04 ³
OpenAI API — $34.68 priced list prices × your tokens
Copilot Pro+ $39 $39.00 estimate $34.68 of credits, $70.00 included ²
Copilot Max $100 $100.00 estimate $34.68 of credits, $200.00 included ²
ChatGPT Pro $100 from $100.00 no 5-hour limit; weekly not published
Cheapest priced: ChatGPT Plus, $20.00 a month (measured), $9.68 less than Copilot Pro ($29.68).Changelog: what the vendors changed, and when
- · OpenAI: GPT-5.5 retires from Codex on all plans. Codex pricing (developers.openai.com/codex/pricing redirects here)
- · OpenAI (as reported): Five-hour limit back on Codex for Plus after a period without one, announced on X by OpenAI's engineering lead for Codex; Pro stays without one. OpenAI's pricing page lists Plus with a five-hour window and Pro without. iThinkDifferent, 25 August 2026, on the announcement
- · OpenAI: Codex credits priced by token, aligned with API token usage, instead of per message, for Plus, Pro and Business (existing Enterprise plans followed on 23 April). OpenAI help center, Codex rate card (article 20001106, as indexed; the live URL now redirects to the credit rate card, which no longer carries the date)
Dates are the vendors' own. “As reported” means the press quoting the vendor, because the vendor's own post could not be read. Each entry says what changed, never why.
Run it on your own logs
On the machine where you use Claude Code or Codex:
$ npx --allow-git=root github:agentwares/tokens-per-dollarIt reads the transcripts Claude Code and Codex keep on your machine, takes the token counts, and prices your last 30 days on every plan on this page. Free and MIT; it makes no network request and sends nothing. --json prints every price with its source and the date it was read.
For a team: seatledger keeps everyone's coding-agent ledger in one place and flags when the token rate moves. Free for up to 3 developers; email alerts on Team, $49 a month.
Sources
- ChatGPT rate card: credit-based pricing — read 8 October 2026
- Codex pricing (developers.openai.com/codex/pricing redirects here) — read 8 October 2026
- About ChatGPT Pro tiers — read 8 October 2026
- Premium seats in ChatGPT Business ($100 of credits = 2,500 credits) — read 8 October 2026
- ChatGPT rate card: Enterprise token-based pricing (USD) — read 8 October 2026
- Codex credit purchases (prices can vary) — read 8 October 2026
- OpenAI help center, Codex rate card (article 20001106, as indexed; the live URL now redirects to the credit rate card, which no longer carries the date) — read 8 October 2026
- iThinkDifferent, 25 August 2026, on the announcement — read 8 October 2026